The Greater Christchurch Partnership and Whakawhanake Kāinga Committees, which are joint committee established by Memorandum of Agreements under the Local Government Act 2002, govern and lead the Partnership, with the support of their Chief Executives, who sit on a Chief Executives Advisory Group.

The Greater Christchurch Partnership Memorandum of Agreement can be accessed here [PDF, 1.1 MB]

The Whakawhanake Kāinga Committee Memorandum of Agreement can be accessed here. [PDF, 8.1 MB] 

You can find out more information about these Committees below.

Greater Christchurch Partnership Committee and the Whakawhanake Kāinga Committee

Meeting schedule, agendas, and minutes can be accessed here (external link)and by searching:

  • Greater Christchurch Partnership and the Whakawhanake Kāinga Committees for meetings after June 2017; or 
  • Greater Christchurch Urban Development Strategy Implementation Committee for meetings before June 2017. 

Agendas are published one week before the meeting. 



Committee members

Greater Christchurch Partnership Committee

Jim Palmer (Chair)

Independent Chair

Mayor Lianne Dalziel

Christchurch City Council

(external link)

Councillor Sara Tempelton

Christchurch City Council                               

Councillor Mike Davidson 

Christchurch City Council


Mayor Dan Gordon

Waimakariri District Council


Deputy Mayor Neville Atkinson

Waimakariri District Council


Councillor Niki Mealings

Waimakariri District Council



Mayor Sam Broughton 

Selwyn District Council


Photo of Sam Broughton(external link)

Deputy Mayor Malcolm Lyall

Selwyn District Council

Photo of Malcolm Lyall(external link)

Councillor Sophie McInnes

Selwyn District Council

Chairperson Jenny Hughey

Environment Canterbury



Councillor Phil Clearwater

Environment Canterbury



Councillor Grant Edge

Environment Canterbury


Dr Te Maire Tau

Te Rūnanga o Ngāi Tahu

Photo of Te Maire Tau(external link)

Jane Huria

Te Rūnanga o Ngāi Tahu

Photo of Jane Huria(external link)

Gail Gordon

Te Rūnanga o Ngāi Tahu


Member to be appointed

(external link)

James Caygill

New Zealand Transport Agency (Director Regional Relationships)         

(non-voting member)



Whakawhanake Kāinga Committee 

Members of the Greater Christchurch Partnership Committee, plus the following members

Hon Megan Woods

Minister of Housing


Hon Nanaia Mahuta

Minister of Local Government


 Briefings to Incoming Government